News · Development · Muswellbrook
Three public roads near Muswellbrook are being sold to a coal miner and dug up. The last condition was met on 21 August
Muswellbrook Shire Council’s business paper for 25 August asks councillors to begin the permanent legal closure of part of Castlerock Road, Belgrave Road and Coal Creek Road, so that MACH Energy can excavate them for the Mount Pleasant mine. This is the last stage of an arrangement running since 2022, and the paper records every condition as already satisfied: the replacement road opened to the public on 6 August, the payment landed on 7 August, the Commonwealth raised no objection to the purchase on 19 June, and construction reached completion on 21 August. What is left is the part the public can act on, and it is short.
What is being proposed
Two items on the 25 August agenda deal with the same roads. Item 9.3.4 asks Council to
authorise commencing the closure of part of Castlerock, Belgrave and Coal Creek Roads under
Part 4, Division 3 of the Roads Act 1993. Item 9.3.3 asks Council to let the
General Manager approve a section 138 permit allowing MACH Energy to
decommission the road and the right to excavate the closed Castlerock Road Portion, Coal
Creek Road and Belgrave Road for mining purposes
.
One item ends the road as a legal object. The other lets the excavator in.
An important qualification before anything else. A business paper is what councillors were asked to do, not what they did. Every other 2026 meeting on the council’s page has both a business paper and minutes; the 25 August meeting has only the business paper, so as at 30 August the outcome is not on the public record. Nothing below should be read as a decision taken.
How a public road becomes a coal pit, in order
The paper sets out the chain, and it is worth having in one place because it runs across four years and several committees.
| Date | Step |
|---|---|
| 6 Sep 2022 | Independent Planning Commission grants State Significant Development consent for the Mount Pleasant Optimisation Project (SSD 10418), approving design and construction of the Northern Link Road |
| 4 Dec 2023 | Council's SSD Committee endorses preparing a draft deed covering, among other things, Closure and sale of redundant roads, including part of Castlerock, Belgrave and Coal Creek Roads |
| 9 Jul 2024 | SSD Committee receives a MACH Energy presentation on the concept design and notes the information |
| 22 Apr 2025 | Council resolves to enter the Road Closure and Works Deed and delegates negotiation to the General Manager |
| 27 May 2025 | Road Closure and Works Deed executed between Council and MACH Energy |
| 26 Aug 2025 | Council delegates authority to sign the section 138 permit for construction of the Northern Link Road |
| Jun 2026 | MACH Energy submits documentation to create separate title lots for the roads to be closed |
| 19 Jun 2026 | MACH Energy receives advice of no objection from the Commonwealth to the purchase of the roads |
| 6 Aug 2026 | Realigned Castlerock Road dedicated as a public road and open for public use |
| 7 Aug 2026 | MACH Energy pays the Proposed Closed Road Payments to Council |
| 21 Aug 2026 | Northern Link Road construction complete, the last outstanding condition |
| 25 Aug 2026 | Council asked to commence the closure process and to approve the decommissioning permit |
The consent itself required the swap in that order. Clause B96 obliges the applicant, at its
own expense, to construct the Northern Link Road realignment
before the eastern portion
of Castlerock Road closes, and to undertake a safety audit for the full length of Castlerock
Road and the intersection of Dorset and Kayuga Road
, implementing any recommendations
applying to the western portion that keeps carrying public traffic, also before closure. The new
road came first by design, not by goodwill.
The Commonwealth condition, which is the part most people will not know about
Of the five conditions the Deed set before Council could start closing the roads, one is not
a construction milestone at all. The Deed required that MACH Energy advises that an
application under the Foreign Investment Review Board (FIRB) has been approved for the purchase
of the public roads
.
The paper records that step as done: on 19 June 2026, MACH Energy
received advice that there is no objection from the Commonwealth in relation to the purchase
of the Proposed Closed Roads
.
That condition exists because these roads are not merely being closed. They are being sold, and the buyer’s ownership is such that the acquisition of Australian land needed federal foreign-investment clearance. The council paper does not describe MACH Energy’s ownership and neither will we, because the document does not say and we have not checked it. What the document does establish is that a Commonwealth foreign-investment step was a precondition to a Hunter council closing three of its roads.
What it costs the council, and what it does not
On the money, the paper is brief and one-directional: All costs and fees associated with
the matter will be met by MACH Energy.
The company has paid a sum the paper calls the
Proposed Closed Road Payments, and the amount is not stated in the report, so we
cannot tell you what three public roads went for.
On maintenance, the council picks up an asset and hands back a liability. MACH Energy is
responsible for the ongoing maintenance of the new realigned portion of Castlerock Road until
the end of mining operations of Mount Pleasant Mine
, and the new road is capitalised onto
Council’s Road Asset Register. Read those together and the maintenance obligation runs for
the life of the mine, after which it is the ratepayers’ road to maintain. That is normal
for this kind of deed and it is still worth a shire knowing the date matters.
On risk, the Deed provides that MACH Energy releases Council from and indemnifies Council
against all claims in relation to the proposed closure and sale of the Proposed Closed
Roads
.
The bit you can actually do something about
The closure process under the Roads Act is the only remaining public step, and it is
genuinely open rather than ceremonial. The recommendation is that Council publish a notice in
the local newspaper and on its website seeking submissions, notify all adjoining landowners and
any owner or occupier of land whose land will suffer a material loss of access
, notify
utility authorities with affected assets, and bring any submissions back to Council in a
report.
The paper states the entitlement plainly: Any person may make a submission to the Council
with respect to the proposal.
After considering submissions, Council may, by notice
published in the Government Gazette, close the public road concerned
.
So the sequence from here is: the notice appears, submissions are taken, a report comes back to Council, and then a Gazette notice ends the roads. As at 30 August we have not seen the notice published, which is consistent with a resolution five days old whose minutes are not yet up.
Our view
This is not a scandal and we are not going to write it as one. A mine was granted consent in 2022 on the express condition that it build a replacement road first, it built one, it paid, it indemnified the council, and the closure follows a statutory process with a public submission period. Every step is documented and the documentation is public. That is closer to how this is supposed to work than most things we read.
What is worth saying is that the interesting decisions were taken years ago, in committee, and the only formal moment the public gets is the last one, after the replacement road is already open and the money has already changed hands. By the time a submission can be made, the roads have been functionally decided since 27 May 2025. Anyone who wants to influence something like this needs to be reading SSD committee papers in 2023, not waiting for a notice in 2026, and almost nobody does. That is the argument for reading business papers, which is what this masthead is for.
What we would check next: whether the 25 August minutes record the recommendation as carried, what the Proposed Closed Road Payments actually came to, and whether the Castlerock Road safety audit required by clause B96 has been completed and accepted, since that condition protects the western portion of the road that keeps carrying the public.
Sources
- Muswellbrook Shire Council, Ordinary Council Meeting Business Paper, 25 August 2026 (PDF, 290 pages, downloaded and read 30 August 2026): items 9.3.3 and 9.3.4 in full. Specifically, the section 138 Roads Act 1993 permit application and the quoted right to excavate the closed roads for mining purposes; the recommendation to commence closure of part of Castlerock, Belgrave and Coal Creek Roads under Part 4 Division 3 of the Roads Act 1993 and its four notification steps including the quoted material loss of access wording; the 6 September 2022 IPC consent for the Mount Pleasant Optimisation Project SSD 10418 and the quoted clause B96 obligations on the Northern Link Road realignment and the Castlerock Road safety audit; the previous resolutions of 4 December 2023, 9 July 2024, 22 April 2025 and 26 August 2025; the Road Closure and Works Deed dated 27 May 2025 and its five preconditions including the quoted FIRB requirement; the six compliance items with their dates, being documentation in June 2026, Commonwealth no-objection 19 June 2026, road dedication 6 August 2026, payment 7 August 2026 and construction 21 August 2026; the quoted statement that all costs and fees will be met by MACH Energy; the quoted maintenance obligation running to the end of mining operations at Mount Pleasant and the capitalisation onto the Road Asset Register; the quoted indemnity; and the quoted statements that any person may make a submission and that Council may close the road by notice in the Government Gazette.
- Muswellbrook Shire Council, 2026 Council Meetings (read 30 August 2026): the published meeting documents for 2026, which is the basis for our statement that the 25 August meeting has a business paper but no minutes as at 30 August while every other 2026 ordinary meeting has both.
Methodology. The business paper was downloaded from the council's own meetings page and read directly; every quotation and date here is from that document. We have not attended the meeting, seen minutes, or contacted Muswellbrook Shire Council or MACH Energy. Where the paper does not say something we have said so rather than filled it in: the Proposed Closed Road Payments amount is not stated in the report, and the report does not describe MACH Energy's ownership, so neither do we. The reading in the last section is labelled as ours.
Live on one of these roads, or know what the closure payment was? Request a correction and we will check it against the business paper and log the outcome here.