Newcastle + Lake Macquarie A kept record · entries dated and sourced

News · Land use · Maitland, Cessnock and Singleton

68,000 homes between Maitland and Branxton. The state was going to plan it, then did not, so three councils did

On the night of Tuesday 18 August 2026, half an hour apart, Maitland City Council and Singleton Council each vote on putting the same document on public exhibition: a structure plan for the Anambah to Branxton growth area. It covers about 15,000 hectares, which the report notes is comparable in size to the whole Newcastle local government area, and sets a 40-year capacity of roughly 68,000 dwellings, 28,000 jobs and 177,000 people, with an estimated $17 billion of infrastructure behind it. One sentence in the report explains why councils wrote it at all: the state-led process the Hunter Regional Plan promised has not eventuated.

The Hunter Ledger · 17 August 2026 · every claim below links to its source

Land use: a Hunter Ledger planning graphic

The Anambah to Branxton Regionally Significant Growth Area runs west from Rutherford along the Hunter River, bounded by the river to the north, the Hunter Expressway and viticultural land to the south, and Belford National Park to the west. It is about 19 kilometres east to west and 9 kilometres north to south, and it crosses three local government areas: Maitland, Cessnock and Singleton.

It was named in the NSW Government’s Hunter Regional Plan 2041 as a place that needed coordinated planning. The report going to councils on 18 August records what happened next, in a single line worth quoting exactly: The HRP identifies a State-led Place Strategy planning process for the RSGA, however this has not eventuated.

So Cessnock City Council secured funding under the Commonwealth Housing Support Program, Stream 1, and the three councils commissioned the work themselves. A project control group of the three councils and Transport for NSW ran it, working with the Department of Planning, Housing and Infrastructure between April 2025 and June 2026. The grant has to be acquitted by 31 January 2027.

What the plan proposes

The Anambah to Branxton structure plan, by the numbers in the council report
MeasureWhole growth areaMaitland LGA portion
Dwelling capacityabout 68,000about 35,000
Jobs supportedabout 28,000not stated separately
Populationabout 177,000not stated separately
Estimated infrastructure costabout $17 billionabout $6.5 billion
Areaabout 15,000 hanot stated separately
Horizon40+ years40+ years

Two things about those numbers need saying immediately, because both are in the report and both are easy to lose. The dwelling figure is a capacity, not a target or an approval, and it counts existing dwellings and already-approved development applications alongside the new capacity the plan identifies. And the $17 billion is not a bill to ratepayers or the state: the report says the estimates do not represent a direct cost to councils or the NSW Government and include infrastructure funded, constructed or dedicated by developers as well as state, local and privately delivered roads, utilities, schools, hospitals and tertiary education facilities. They are also described as preliminary and prepared at a high level.

The plan is built on five strategies: a centres hierarchy, housing diversity, a street network, public and active transport, and a blue-green network of biodiversity corridors. The street network strategy carries an assumption worth noticing in a coal region. It responds, in the report’s words, to the potential transition of the railway from predominantly coal freight to increased passenger transport, and seeks additional north-south and east-west connectors to relieve the New England Highway.

The overall shape is higher-density, mixed-use housing around centres and transport hubs rather than low-density sprawl, which the report ties to walkability, access to services and long-term affordability.

What is actually being decided on 18 August

Not the plan. The vote is on exhibiting it, for a minimum of six weeks, with the three councils exhibiting concurrently so that everyone in the growth area sees the same documents at the same time. A further report comes back to each council after exhibition.

The recommendation also delegates the start date of the exhibition to the general manager, in consultation with the other two councils, along with authority to make minor amendments before it opens. So the six weeks has no published start date yet, and anyone wanting to make a submission will need to watch for it.

The document itself is not small. The structure plan is Attachment 1 and the infrastructure delivery plan is Attachment 2, with fourteen further technical studies behind them covering transport modelling, connecting with country, population and housing, economic and employment capacity, utilities, social infrastructure, biodiversity, bushfire, heritage, flood and water cycle management, land contamination, geotechnical, noise and vibration, and air quality.

Two councils, one night

Maitland’s Ordinary Meeting starts at 5.30pm on Tuesday 18 August in the Council Chambers at the Town Hall on High Street. Singleton’s Council Meeting starts at 6pm the same evening, and the same item appears on its agenda as GM48/26. We have not established Cessnock’s meeting date, because its business papers are not published on a portal we can read from here, so treat the third council’s timing as unconfirmed rather than absent.

Two councils voting on the same regional plan half an hour apart is the practical face of what the report describes: a growth area that crosses boundaries no single council controls, planned by the councils because the level of government that named it did not.

What we will watch

Three things, all checkable. The exhibition start date, once the general managers set it, because the six-week clock is the only chance to comment before the plan is adopted. Whether the three councils actually exhibit concurrently as intended. And whether the state, having not run the place strategy the regional plan promised, engages with the result: the recommendation includes writing to the Minister for Planning and Public Spaces to advise of the approach.

Sources

  1. Maitland City Council, Agenda of Ordinary Meeting, Tuesday 18 August 2026 (PDF with attachments, 152 pages, downloaded and read 17 August 2026): item 11.2, Public Exhibition of Draft Anambah to Branxton Regionally Significant Growth Area Structure Plan and Supporting Studies. Every figure and quotation above is from that item: the executive summary and officer’s recommendation; the Hunter Regional Plan 2041 identification and the sentence about the state-led place strategy; the Commonwealth Housing Support Program Stream 1 funding secured by Cessnock and the 31 January 2027 acquittal; the project control group with Transport for NSW and the April 2025 to June 2026 work with the department; the revised 15,000 hectare boundary, its comparison to the Newcastle LGA and the 19 by 9 kilometre extent; the approximately 68,000 dwellings, 35,000 in Maitland, 28,000 jobs and 177,000 people; the approximately $17 billion and $6.5 billion infrastructure estimates and the statement that they are not a direct cost to councils or the NSW Government; the five strategies including the railway transition wording; the six-week concurrent exhibition and the delegation of the start date; and the sixteen attachments. The meeting time and place are from the agenda’s notice page.
  2. Singleton Council, Agenda of Meeting of Singleton Council, Tuesday 18 August 2026 (PDF with attachments, downloaded and read 17 August 2026): that the same structure plan item appears on Singleton’s agenda for the same evening as item GM48/26, and the 6pm start time from the agenda metadata.
  3. The Hunter Ledger, our earlier coverage of how development pressure is being planned for in this region: the state’s assessment-speed incentive round and a planning agreement at Cameron Park.

How we read this

The agenda was downloaded directly from the council’s business-papers host and read as text. Everything here is from item 11.2 of that agenda, which is the council officers’ report recommending exhibition; we have not read the structure plan itself or the sixteen attachments, so this describes what the council is being asked to exhibit rather than assessing the plan. The figures are the report’s own and it describes them as preliminary and high-level. Nothing here is a decision: the vote on 18 August is about public exhibition, and the plan returns to each council afterwards. We have not contacted Maitland, Cessnock or Singleton councils, the department, or Transport for NSW.

Spotted an error in this story? Request a correction and we will check it against the sources and log the outcome here.